Dante is now half-angel and half-devil…wait, what!?


…I admit that when I first saw the new trailer for the fifth installment of the Devil May Cry series, I was very disappointed. The action seemed alright, though not on the level Bayonetta had brought to us, but enjoyable nonetheless. No, it was the now dubbed “Emo Dante” that is now being raged at across the vast internet. According to Wikipedia, Capcom actually expected and listened to the fans about this, and did nothing to change it. Honestly, I was hoping this was an April Fool’s joke; it would have been hilarious! And after talking with a friend of mine who was facepalming at everyone’s reaction, I calmed down some and finally began to accept the new Dante. He was never going to replace my image of what the real Dante was, but if the game was good, I could look over this, no problem.

Tell me, which one would be the better Dante in your opinion?

And then we take a horrid right turn into fanfiction territory, getting a new idea that has, for a lesser term, broken me and nearly every fan out there. Ladies and gentlemen, Dante, once known as a devil slayer who was half-demon and half-human, dedicating himself to fighting off evil for money and to protect humanity…is now half-angel…What?

Yes, it’s true people. We have something out of the realms of fanfiction put into our favorite series. Ya know, it didn’t work with Blue Dragon when we took charge of a Mary Sue of a character, so why in the world would this ever work!? Okay, both games were made by different people, but that still doesn’t change the fact that your writers should know better than to incorporate elements that are used in second grade fanfiction!

Now some of you are wondering: Why in the world should we care? I shall tell you: this is the death of Dante, the game character most have always idolized. Whether it be in the anime or in the games, Dante has shown us just how badass a character could be. He may not have been the best at what he did, but he sure proved he was one of the top characters in gaming history with his devil may care attitude of his. But more importantly, his origin was already established and showed some of the motivation behind his actions.

Though he did always do jobs for cash it seems, with that coin of his, it showed that he gives people a chance by working for next to nothing. This was proven in both the anime episodes and Shin Megami Tensei 3 when you try and recruit him later in the game, as well as in the infamous Devil May Cry 2 as well. He sought to protect humanity not only because of his father’s will and spirit, but because he was part human, and his mother was human. And with that, we can understand what Dante’s desire to protect humanity more and more, and not just think he is some greedy guy. Of course, the character was also flawed, but that’s what we always liked about the character. He could be stupid, he could be funny, he could be incredibly entertaining, the point is we love him for being him. And in a trailer of Marvel vs. Capcom 3, Capcom knew just how to make Dante, well, Dante.

Too bad it’s too late. If you looked at past games like Namco x Capcom, you can see Dante is pretty much one of the view fandoms that is excluded from any of the crossover games. About the only games you may ever see him involved in are pretty rare. The most notable one might be the Viewtiful Joe games, in which he did make an appearance and as a playable character to boot. I never played the game sadly, opting more for his other appearance in Shin Megami Tensei 3: Nocturne. A shame Capcom didn’t team up with Atlus some more, because I would have bought more games if Dante actually fought in the Shin Megami Tensei series.

And after all those years, and wasted opportunities, they decide to start the entire series over, and yet somehow manage to push onto us the old elements of Devil May Cry we may never see ever again! The new game is supposed to be a reboot, and at this rate, I am not looking forward to it. The game itself doesn’t look to bad, but the fact remains that a ton of fans are outraged by this, and yet Capcom is going along their business as if nothing is happening, again. Tell me Megaman fans, does that sound familiar to you? It’s like Capcom has completely slapped its fan base, not once, but twice. It’ll be four times if you count the fact that Phoenix Wright series is now dead in the USA, and Castlevania is changed forever, though the latter is actually debatable.

I simply wanted to say my thoughts on this issue. With this action, fans just feel betrayed by this and are angered beyond hell. I should know after dealing with several of them on livejournal. Even on Plurk, I already know people who cannot look at Dante the same way again. After all is said and done though, I am done with Capcom, period. Aside from games already on my shelves, Capcom is now dead to me. I endured the change in Dante, I endured no more Phoenix Wright, I endured Castlevania, I endured Marvel vs Capcom 3’s lackluster features, and I even somehow endured the cancellation of Megaman Legends 3, but this was the final straw I could no longer take. It is obvious Capcom doesn’t care about their fans. And until they do, I am never buying a single product of theirs ever again.

And in time, their fan base is just going to get lower with mistakes like these.

About The Smartest Moron

I am a college graduate of Temple University, majoring in Media Studies and Production. While hunting for jobs, I also do a review series on YouTube where I analyze stories/characters called The Smartest Moron.
This entry was posted in Capcom, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

